Buy this track on iTunes ADD Add Favourite

artist Yukon Blonde

Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Nevado Records

biographical info

Canadian-based Yukon Blonde has announced the release of their Fire//Water EP on Dine Alone Records out October 11 in the around the world - except in Canada where its available Sept 20 via Nevado Records. Produced by Colin Stewart (Black Mountain, Ladyhawk) the four song follow up to the quartet's Polaris and WCMA award nominated debut LP will be supported on an extensive North American fall tour including over 60 dates where fans can purchase a vinyl copy in either fire orange or water blue.

The signature hook-heavy arrangements and lush "ooh-wah" harmonies that earned Yukon Blonde critical nods for their self-titled 2009 debut have certainly soaked into their latest output, but this EP also marks a transition, foreshadowing an evolving sound for the band as they explore new territory in their songwriting and continue to grow as musicians. Written partially while on the road, and partially while off the road at a cottage in the Comox Valley (BC), the band recorded a total of 15 songs over the course of the summer, and the remaining 11 tracks will be featured on their sophomore LP to be released sometime in early 2012.

Yukon Blonde's career has so far been marked by their on-the-road ethic. Last fall they embarked on a 30+ date tour supporting Good Old War, as well as several headlining runs down each coast. This summer the young B.C. band played at Milwaukee Summerfest with Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros and the last year and a half has seen them rack up nonstop tour mileage both in North America, and Europe, including festivals such as SXSW, CMJ and Popkomm Festival in Berlin along the way. Be sure to check them out live this fall as they are sure to be in a city near you.  

Yukon Blonde is: Jeff Innes (Guitar, Vocals), Brandon Scott (Guitar, Vocals), Graham Jones (Drums, Vocals), Andy Bishop (Bass).

Tiger Talk
Dine Alone Records
March, 2012
List Tracks ▼
Fire//Water EP
Nevado Records
September, 2011
List Tracks ▼
split with the Wooden Sky
Nevado Records
September, 2010
List Tracks ▼
Yukon Blonde
February, 2010
List Tracks ▼
Everything in Everyway
Nevado Records
October, 2009
List Tracks ▼
 Limited Play
 Limited Play

Login required

Oops - you have to be logged in to add to My Saved Items.