Buy this track on iTunes ADD Add Favourite

artist Uncut

Toronto, ON, CANADA
Paper Bag Records

«   »

biographical info

“Lurking just far enough beyond the radar to remain unnecessarily obscure, while perpetually frustrating evangelical admirers has been this underappreciated Toronto quartet’s modus operandi for a decade.”

—Ben Rayner, Toronto Star


“Uncut’s long-awaited third album is everything holdout diehard fans have been hoping for from these acclaimed local guitar rockers. Strong from start to finish, the album picks up right where the hard-charging, eardrum-rattling quartet left off seven years ago.”

—Jordan Bimm, Now Toronto


After a protracted absence, Toronto’s Uncut—Jon Drew (drums), Chris McCann (guitar), Derek Tokar (bass, vocals) and Ian Worang (guitar, vocals)—have returned with their third album, Infinite Repeats, released on July 16 by MB3 Records.

While Uncut has never had a problem generating critical praise, their limited output has proven a sometimes frustrating case for their fans—it’s been seven years since the release of their second album Modern Currencies.

But an eventful seven years it’s been.

Following the release of two albums and supporting tours with the likes of Death From Above 1979, Bob Mould and Dinosaur Jr., singer, guitar player and songwriter Sam Goldberg left Uncut to join Canadian idols Broken Social Scene. With fast approaching live dates, Chris McCann was quickly drafted into the band. McCann soon found himself on tour in the US and Japan, and a crucial factor in what turned out to be the lengthy and at times arduous process of writing a third album.

In the end, it was worth the effort.

Recorded and mixed by drummer Jon Drew, who’s previously manned the console for Fucked Up, Tokyo Police Club and Arkells, Infinite Repeats represents an evolution rather than a radical departure from its two predecessors, building on Uncut’s trademark feedback-heavy guitar squall, fuzzed out bass and rhythmic urgency. The result, weaving together stylistic strands of post-punk aggression and shoegaze wall-of-sound, pays homage to 90s college radio touchstones such as Fugazi, Swervedriver and Dinosaur Jr. without ever devolving into mimicry.

Next steps? As Now Magazine recently asked, “how about some shows?” 


Ian Worang Band Member
Derek Tokar Band Member
Jon Drew Band Member
Chris McCann Band Member


Joy Division
Sonic Youth
Thieves Watch (Thomas D'Arcy Inspirational Remix)
December, 2013
List Tracks ▼
Infinite Repeats
July, 2013
List Tracks ▼
Kept Hidden & Young Pioneers - Split Single
Elkion Records
August, 2011
List Tracks ▼
Modern Currencies
Paper Bag Records
October, 2006
List Tracks ▼
Those Who Were Hung Hang Here
Paper Bag Records
May, 2004
List Tracks ▼


Breaking Glass (Live) 3:42

Breaking Glass (Live)

Recorded live at MTV.

Darkhorse 3:01


There may be collateral damage.

Understanding The New Violence 3:40
Some streams are not available outside of Canada. If you are located in Canada, please Contact us and we'll respond as quickly as we can.


395 plays

8,295 plays

iTunes Link

525 plays

iTunes Link

Login required

Oops - you have to be logged in to add to My Saved Items.