Buy this track on iTunes ADD Add Favourite

artist Matt Paxton

Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Other Songs Music Co.
Folk, Alt Rock

«   »

biographical info


After self-recording and releasing demos in early 2006, Paxton was invited by local producers Michael Keire and Glen Marshall, known for their work with Feist and Apostle of Hustle, to record what would become 2009's "Back Home in the Village".

Exclaim! Magazine published, "the hazy, Daniel Lanois-esque vibe complements Paxton's often-laconic delivery, and sets him apart from the common herd of no-nonsense troubadours. That’s not to say Paxton’s songs are run of the mill. He has a good descriptive sense, and anyone with any experience with gritty, working-class life will relate to everything he’s saying. Paxton’s produced a solid starting point from which to make his mark."

Paxton has spent some hearty time on the road touring and playing with the likes of Evan Dando, Jason Collett (Broken Social Scene), Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, Chad VanGaalen, Harlan Pepper, and many more. He has been featured on Master Tracks, a Canadian television series where an emerging artist/band is given one day to record a song with acclaimed producers Moe Berg (The Pursuit of Happiness) and Laurence Currie (Sloan, Wintersleep). It was launched on, a Canadian music website, and BiteTV, a digital cable channel, in May 2010. He has also been featured on CMT, a Canadian cable television specialty channel which airs country music in the form of music videos and concerts. Paxton was also one of the first performers to be featured on Southern Souls, a popular Canadian music website similar to Vincent Moon's La Blogothèque of Paris, France.

Paxton's "How the Land Lies" was released April 29, 2011 on Down By The Point Records featuring members of Bruce Peninsula and Dark Mean. On January 31, 2012, he released the single titled "Shore Pine Walk" on the Other Songs Music Co. record label followed by an official music video filmed by The Art Institute of Vancouver released on April 1, 2013. On September 23, 2014, Paxton released a new EP titled "Mountain Eyes" via Other Songs Music Co. 

Most recently, in April of 2015, Paxton teamed up with acclaimed musician/producer Aaron Goldstein (Daniel Romano & the Trilliums Band, Bry Webb & the Providers, Elliott Brood) to record a new collection of songs. Paxton & Goldstein recorded the songs in Toronto's Candle Recording Studio, as well as Vancouver's Afterlife Studio, with the help of engineers Erik Nielsen (The Wild North) and Kenny Meehan (Daniel Romano & the Trilliums Band). The new recordings feature Goldstein playing multiple instruments, Raven Shields (The Wilderness of Manitoba) on backing vocals, Harlan Pepper (courtesy of Six Shooter Records) as the backing band on a few tracks, Edwin Sheard (Arkells' motown recordings) on Saxaphone, Ryan Peters (Ladyhawk, Daniel Romano) on drums, Erik Nielsen (The Wild North) on bass, Peggy Lee (The Peggy Lee Band, Dan Mangan & Blacksmith) on cello, and Jesse Zubot (Tanya Tagaq, Dan Mangan, Stars) on Violin. "Pasadena", the first single off of the new record "Let Me Rock N' Roll Tonight", is to be released May 3rd, 2016 via Other Songs Music Co. "Let Me Rock N' Roll Tonight is due out June 3rd, 2016.

Paxton currently lives in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Other Songs Music Co.
May, 2016
List Tracks ▼
Mountain Eyes
Other Songs Music Co.
September, 2014
List Tracks ▼
Factory Town
Other Songs Music Co.
July, 2012
List Tracks ▼
Shore Pine Walk
Other Songs Music Co.
January, 2012
List Tracks ▼
How the Land Lies
Down By The Point Records
April, 2011
List Tracks ▼
Some streams are not available outside of Canada. If you are located in Canada, please Contact us and we'll respond as quickly as we can.

Matt Paxton

Login required

Oops - you have to be logged in to add to My Saved Items.