Buy this track on iTunes ADD Add Favourite


Guelph, ON, CANADA
Static Clang
Alt Pop

«   »

biographical info

Canadian Indie-Afrobeat Pranksters MINOTAURS Release Follow-up Album NEW BELIEVERS, January 22nd, 2013 on Static Clang.


New Believers is the follow-up to Minotaurs’ 2010 debut album The Thing, the album which galvanized it’s indie-afrobeat-protest sound.


New Believers was produced by Paul Aucoin (John K. Samson, Laura Barrett, National Parks Project, Hylozoists), mixed by Howie Beck (Feist, Jason Collett), and features contributions by Sarah Harmer and Casey Mecija of Ohbijou, among others.


New Believers reveals a darker, angrier, and grittier Minotaurs with songs such as the all-out afrobeat jam “Make Some Noise,” which Lawr wrote in a Chicago hotel room while the Quebec student protest movement unfold. And the album’s first single, “Open the Doors,” a visceral funk-opus-duet with Harmer, written as a frustrated response to the G20 debacle in Toronto. “I wouldn’t say that our thing is “protest” music as such, “says Lawr, “but it does stem from a desire to be engaged in and to affect what is happening politically in this country and the world. People always tell me, “wow, you’re so political,” and I always respond with, “wow, you’re not?!” The truth is that we are political beings whether we like it or not. Every human being since the beginning of time has been born into some sort of political entity complete with rights and obligations and that doesn’t change when you decide to be uninvolved; it just means you’ve accepted that decisions will be made without your input. And I’m not comfortable with that.”


The album was recorded at Andy Magoffin’s new House of Miracles in Preston, Ontario, live-off-the-floor with the core 12 members. Having dabbled with guitars and pianos on previous records, Lawr returned to his roots on New Believers and played the drums himself. “Well, with a band like this, so rhythmically oriented, being the drummer was pretty sweet.”


Groovy and furious, New Believers picks up where The Thing left off and takes this new strain of Canadian indie folk-rock even further, carving out a bold new path.


Track Listing:

New Believers Make Some Noise Split the Atom Flashbulb Open the Doors (feat. Sarah Harmer) Strange Fire (feat. Casey Mecija) Sharper Knife Windchimes in the Evening



Jay Anderson: percussion

Dee Archer: vocals

Paul Aucoin: vibraphone, organ, snyth, percussion

Bryden Baird: trumpet on New Believers, Sharper Knife, and Flashbulb

Nicolas Buligan: trumpet

Ryan Carley: piano on Flashbulb

Dave Clark: drums on Sharper Knife and additional drums on Flashbulb

Sarah Harmer: vocals on Open the Doors

Jay Hay: baritone saxophone

Edwin Huizinga: violin on Flashbulb

Nathan Lawr: drums, piano, percussion, vocals, keys

Dan Levecque: guitar

Ryan Levecque: guitar

Shaw-Han Liem: piano

Kevin Lynn: bass

Casey Mecija: vocals on Strange Fire

Jeremy Strachan: tenor saxophone

Steve Ward: trombone



January 25th, Guelph, ON, Ed Video

January 26th, Toronto, ON, Transac Club

February 15th, Peterborough, ON, TBA

February 16th, Sudbury, ON, The Townehouse Tavern




Fela Kuti
The sun
Tony Allen
Pink Floyd
New Believers
Static Clang
January, 2013
List Tracks ▼
Static Clang
June, 2011
List Tracks ▼
The Thing
Static Clang
August, 2010
List Tracks ▼




Minotaurs rehearsal. Filmed by Scott Cudmore. Edited by Nathan Lawr

MINOTAURS Live at the Great Hall 8:39

MINOTAURS Live at the Great Hall

Watch us playing the song Pink Floyd at the NuJazz Launch party in Toronto!

Runaway Lane 4:26

Runaway Lane

Live in the coat room of the Great Hall. Filmed by Mitch Fillion for Southern Souls.

where to buy
 Limited Play

Login required

Oops - you have to be logged in to add to My Saved Items.