They mix Celtic, folk and chamber music and call it “rad trad,” and last night, that unlikely blend made the Fretless the big winners at the Canadian Folk Music Awards.

The group, whose members come from Victoria, Vancouver, Saskatoon and Los Angeles, and who met at the Berklee College of Music and on the Celtic competition circuit, won instrumental group of the year as well as ensemble of the year for their album Waterbound. The Fretless’s Trent Freeman also won for instrumental solo artist of the year.

Newfoundland and Labrador’s the Once took home the award for vocal group of the year for their album Row Upon Row of the People They Know, which was also nominated for a Juno.

Prince Edward Island singer-songwriter Rose Cousins landed contemporary singer of the year, an honour she also won in 2010.

Indie favourites the Deep Dark Woods, who earlier this year were nominated for a Juno and were awarded roots group/duo recording of the year at the Western Canadian Music Awards, won contemporary album of the year for The Place I Left Behind

The awards were handed out Saturday night at the Imperial Theatre in Saint John, N.B., and East Coast favourites including the Atlantic Ballet Theatre and blues guitarist Matt Andersen were among the performers.
Nova Scotians Cindy Church and Susan Crowe, who were scheduled to perform with Raylene Rankin before she died earlier this year, also paid homage to the late Canadian star.

Here is the full list of winners:

Traditional album of the year
Metis Fiddler Quartet, Northwest Voyage Nord Ouest

Contemporary album of the year
The Deep Dark Woods, The Place I Left Behind

Children’s album of the year
Henri Godon, Chansons pour toutes sortes d'enfants

Traditional singer of the year
Lenka Lichtenberg, Songs for the Breathing Walls

Contemporary singer of the year
Rose Cousins, We Have Made A Spark

Instrumental solo artist of the year
Trent Freeman, Rock Paper Scissors

Instrumental group of the year
The Fretless, Waterbound

English songwriter of the year
Catherine MacLellan, Silhouette

French songwriter of the year
Mes Aïeux, À l'aube du printemps

Vocal group of the year
The Once, Row Upon Row of the People They Know

Ensemble of the year
The Fretless, Waterbound

Solo artist of the year
Michael Jerome Browne, The Road is Dark

World group of the year
Sultans of String, MOVE

New/emerging artist of the year
Pharis & Jason Romero, A Passing Glimpse

Producer of the year
Rob Szabo, A Natural Fact (Steve Strongman)

Pushing the boundaries
Sagapool, Sagapool

Young performer of the year
Lucas Chaisson, Growing Pains


Raylene Rankin of the Rankin Family dies at 52

Rose Cousins continues to make a spark

Dan Mangan wins big at 2012 Western Canadian Music Awards

CBC Music Canadian Roots stream launches

2012 Juno Awards: Roots and traditional albums of the year

posted by Jennifer Van Evra on Nov 18, 2012