On April 16, Willie Nelson & Family will release Let’s Face the Music And Dance, a new album of covers drawn from pop and country songwriters of the '30s and '40s.

The first single from the new album is Nelson's take on Frank Loesser's 1947 song, “I Wish I Didn’t Love You So.” You can watch the video above, exclusively in Canada on CBC Music.

The new record comes in a year of big days for the country legend. On April 30, Nelson will celebrate his 80th birthday. This year also marks the 40th anniversary since the formation of the Family, the band he formed with his sister, Bobbie Nelson. Willie's son, Micah, adds further family dynamics to the new album, playing percussion on selected songs.  We're assured that Willie, and his trusty guitar Trigger, appear on all the tracks.

Let’s Face the Music And Dance will be released on April 16. The tracklist is below, and you can pre-order the album via iTunes.

1. "Let’s Face the Music and Dance" (Irving Berlin, 1935)
2. "Is the Better Part Over" (Willie Nelson, 1989)
3. "You’ll Never Know" (Mack Gordon, 1943)
4. "Vous Et Moi" (Claude Francois-Jean Bourtayre)
5. "Walking My Baby Back Home" (Fred Ahlert-Roy Turk, 1930)
6. "Matchbox" (Carl Perkins, 1957)
7. "Twilight Time" (Al Nevins-Morty Nevins)
8. "I Can’t Give You Anything But Love" (Dorothy Fields-Jimmy McHugh)
9. "I’ll Keep On Loving You" (Richard Coburn-Vincent Rose)
10. "I Wish I Didn’t Love You So" (Frank Loesser, 1947)
11. "South of the Border" (Jimmy Kennedy-Michael Carr)
12. "Nuages" (Django Reinhardt)
13. "Marie" (The Dawn Is Breaking)
13. "Shame On You" (Spade Cooley, 1944)


Willie Nelson reunites with Sony, releases Heroes

Willie Nelson honoured with Kris Kristofferson prize

Johnny Cash to Marty Robbins: Story songs

Joanne Cash on growing up with Johnny

posted by Brad Frenette on Mar 19, 2013