The 2012 CCMA Awards, already packed with some of the biggest names in country music, just added more star power. Country superstar Taylor Swift has been confirmed as a guest at the event, which will be held Sunday, Sept. 9, in Saskatoon.

Swift will be awarded the inaugural CCMA Generation Award, a designation created "to celebrate those who have been propelled beyond the borders of the country music genre onto an international stage." 

The multiple Grammy winner, who has just released the new chart-topping single "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together," adds her name to a lineup that already includes a mix of popular Canadian and international stars, including Gord Bamford, Paul Brandt, Dean Brody, Deric Ruttan, Johnny Reid, High Valley, Jason Aldean, Pistol Annies, Eric Church and Miranda Lambert.                       

• The 2012 CCMA Awards on Sunday, Sept. 9, will be broadcast live across Canada at 8 p.m. (8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC. We'll also have complete coverage of the awards here on CBC Music. Get behind-the-scenes coverage via our CCMA page as you watch the awards.


Read a complete list of the 2012 CCMA Award nominees

Enter to win a trip for 2 to the 2012 CCMA Awards

2012 CCMAs: Full coverage

Taylor Swift announces new record

posted by Brad Frenette on Aug 27, 2012