Today marks a big milestone in the march towards deciding which Canadian band or artist wins the prestigious Polaris Music Prize for 2009, and the $20,000.00 prize money.

At exactly 11am ET/8am PT today, Executive Director and Founder Steve Jordan released the Top 40 Long List of albums, as voted on by the jury of Canadian music journalists, broadcasters, and bloggers. It is from this list that the Top 10 Shorlist will be revealed live on CBC Radio 3/Sirius 86 on Tuesday, July 7, live from the Drake Hotel in Toronto.

Today on Grant Lawrence Live - at the new time of 2pm ET / 11am PT - we'll talk with Polaris Executive Administrator Liisa Ladouceur to get her reaction to the list... and here it is:

And so here is the 2009 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

Arkells - Jackson Square

Jill Barber - Chances

Beast - Beast

Bell Orchestre - As Seen Through Windows

Bison B.C. - Quiet Earth

Bruce Peninsula - A Mountain Is A Mouth

Coeur De Pirate - Coeur De Pirate

Leonard Cohen - Live In London

D-Sisive - Let The Children Die

Elephant Stone - The Seven Seas

Elliott Brood - Mountain Meadows

Fucked Up - The Chemistry Of Common Life

Great Lake Swimmers - Lost Channels

Handsome Furs - Face Control

Tim Hecker - An Imaginary Country

Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs

Japandroids - Post-Nothing

Junior Boys - Begone Dull Care

K'NAAN - Troubadour


La patère rose - La patère rose

Land Of Talk - Some Are Lakes

Lhasa - Lhasa

Malajube - Labyrinthes

Metric - Fantasies

One Hundred Dollars - Forest Of Tears

Pink Mountaintops - Outside Love

Joel Plaskett - Three

Snailhouse - Lies On The Prize

Charles Spearin - The Happiness Project

Rae Spoon - superioryouareinferior

The Stills - Oceans Will Rise

Think About Life - Family

Timber Timbre - Timber Timbre

Chad VanGaalen - Soft Airplane

Martha Wainwright - I Know You're Married But I've Got Feelings Too

Patrick Watson - Wooden Arms

Wolf Parade - At Mount Zoomer

Women - Women

Woodpigeon - Treasury Library Canada C/W Houndstooth Europa

posted by Grant Lawrence on Jun 15, 2009